Archive for January 27, 2013

MY FIRST QVC AWARD (QUALITY, VALUE AND CONSISTENCY) – BONA CUCINA, UPPER DARBY, PA

Posted in Bona Cucina - QVC Award Winner with tags , on January 27, 2013 by ballymote

IMG_5862

 Is Bona Cucina the best restaurant in the Delaware Valley? No, not really. However, I don’t think I have been to another dining spot in Philly or South Jersey that so consistently serves great food at such unbelievably low prices.

 Bona Cucina, at 66 Sherbrook Drive in Upper Darby has been a local favorite for almost 25 years. Pat and Frankie Buonadonna (Pat is the chef and Frankie runs the front of the house) have been serving meals to hungry diners with a quality and consistency that has folks returning often, myself included, and I live some distance away in South Jersey.

This fantastic restaurant has one of those menus where everything is tempting and it has been years since they have raised prices on their entrees or appetizers IMG_3665. It’s not a big place with perhaps 50 seats but it has a relaxed atmosphere and after one or two visits you’ll feel like family. I caution you that Frankie can be slightly irreverent but that only adds to her charm. She takes great pride in everything her husband sends out from the kitchen.

You will seldom, if ever, see Pat in the dining room, it’s just not his world. He prefers to lose himself in the wonderful food he is preparing. A large group of friends that I gre up with in Drexel Hill have been going to Bona Cucina for several years. My wife has heard me rave about the place so many times that last Sunday she insisted I take her, and my sister, who was celebrating a birthday for dinner. Since her  meal, I have heard her telling others about how delicious the food was at Bona Cucina. It’s not a place I read about often when great restaurants are mentioned but, that’s OK, business is booming and maybe it’s best if it stays a local secret.

IMG_3678

  I was able, on one occasion, to coax Pat out of the kitchen for a photo of him and Frankie. They are rightfully proud of their restaurant and I am happy to be able to award them my very first QVC Award for Quality, Value and Consistency. Keep up the good work!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers