HOPS N GRAPES SOLD TO NEW OWNERS

One of my favorite wine stores has been sold! Max and Filipe Cammorata have relinquished ownership of their highly successful 3-year-old store in Glassboro, NJ. From what I understand, the transaction took place several months ago but the brothers stayed on at the store for a few months to help the new owner get started.

I do not know who the new owners are. Hopefully, they will follow many of the same procedures that made Max and Filipe successful. They are currently offering a daily special in e-mails that I receive from the store. The “specials” thus far, seem to be two or three dollars off some pretty mediocre wines and they are only good for the one day the e-mail is sent. It’s not exactly the kind of marketing that will have you running to Hops n Grapes before the sun goes down.

They (Max and Filipe) told me they would soon be announcing a new venture so stand by for that news.

As of now it’s a sad day in the neighborhood as I will miss their YouTube tastings as they proved they were the “NOT QUITE READY FOR PRIME TIME WINE GUYS”. I wish them the best of luck in their future endeavours.

7 Responses to “HOPS N GRAPES SOLD TO NEW OWNERS”

  1. I just visited Hops and Grapes for the first time last weekend and although the selection was huge and I was impressed by the selection of NJ wines – they had some of the better ones there – I was surprised with so many employees around that no one offered to help me. I was there for quite a while.

    In the past, would the employees have been more friendly?

  2. ballymote Says:

    Hi Robin

    I had always found the staff to be very helpful on my many visits. I have been there so much that most of them know me. I do know the new owners have kept the same employees who have been there. It may have just been a fluke that none of them offered to help you. I’d say they deserve one more chance and then you can head down to Monster Beverage.. Thanks for your comment.

    Frank

  3. Hey guys! I’m the IT Manager over at Hops and Grapes (I built the website, monitor internet traffic, fix computers, etc, etc). I’ve been with the company for about 2 years now. First I wanted to let you know that yes Max and Filipe have left for a new endeavor. They were fantastic bosses and I loved working for them. I’m the one who came up with the idea to do YouTube videos. I did all the editing and the shooting and we had a blast doing it (especially putting donkey heads on Max and such). I am, however, very satisfied with the new owner. Max and Filipe had a lot of other restaurants and stores they were concerned with so they spent a lot of time with those other business. The new owner is 100% dedicated to the store, improving the image, and offering new and exciting ways to help the customers out.

    Also to Robin, I’m sorry that you had a bad experience at the store! We make sure in every manager meeting to stress asking customers for help. I work in the back on computers usually, and still every time I walk through the aisles I constantly ask if people need assistance (I’m a wine drinker too! )

    So please give us another chance, and if you are ever in the store, ask for Patrick and I’d love to give you a hand. I’ve been in the business for 8 years, 3 here, 3 Canals Pennsauken and 2 managing my own store in Maryland. If there is anything you need, please call 856-582-8110 or email me at patrick@hopsandgrapesonline.com!

    • ballymote Says:

      Patrick

      Sorry it has taken me so long to acknowledge your post. Thanks for commenting. I still like going to Hops n Grapes even without Max and Filipe but I am not sure about the marketing campaign the new owner is running. The “Daily E-mail Special”. There are two reasons it doesn’t excite me. First, there are many, many times when I get the e-mail for the “daily special” at 10:00 P.M. of the day it was on “special”, or the NEXT day. That can’t be good! Second, even had I received it in a timely manner, the wines being offered seldom excite me and the discount offered is $2.00 or $3.00 and not something I am going to stop everything to run over.

      It does seem that the employees are quite happy working for the new owner, whom I have yet to meet, so he must be doing something right. Vlady has nothing but good things to say about the guy. I have not been up to Wine Works, yet. I don’t know how they are going to compete with Canal’s in that area. If I am going to drive that far, I’m going to see Charlie Beatty!

      Take care.

      Frank

      • Yeah we are still trying to master the art of email here (and by we I mean me, it’s a one man team).

        The daily specials do pretty well, but I agree a dollar a bottle here and there isn’t something that keeps the interest of most people. We’re toying with many ideas and that I hope that one of them hits home with you!

        If you need anything please, by all means contact me at my email and if you see any of the wines you like online let me know!

  4. Vladi is no longer part of hops and grapes
    if you like to talk to wine and cheese guru visit Wineworks Marlton NJ

    • ballymote Says:

      In case you didn’t get Vladi’s message, he is no longer at Hops n Grapes. He is the Wine and Cheese Guru at WineWorks on Rt 70 in Marlton, NJ.
      Stop in and say “hi Vladi….show me the good stuff!”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

