I CAN’T BELIEVE I AM WRITING ABOUT A NEW JERSEY WINERY

Wine snobs, like myself, have long contended that the only wine made in the USA worth drinking must come from California, Oregon or Washington state. I can not tell you I have sampled lots of NJ wines. I simply don’t give them a chance because, the few I have had, have been undrinkable, and I, like many others, live by the creed that “life is too short to drink bad wine.”

So, when someone sent me a Craig LaBan (food critic of the Philadelphia Inquirer) article from the newspaper titled “Wines of NJ Draw Fans”, I read it with a large degree of skepticism. The piece featured the Sharrott Winery in Winslow Township, just a few miles from my home. In all honesty, I have never been there and prior to the article, never even knew it existed. It seems that among the wines they produce  is a Cabernet Franc that was just awarded a Gold Medal at the recent San Francisco Chronicle Wine Competition. I also learned that it is available at one of my favorite wine stores, Hops n Grapes in Glassboro. I was impressed enough by what I read that I am planning to purchase the Sharrott Cab Franc as soon as this damn snow stops long enough to enable me to visit Hops n Grapes. I will make certain that in the next few days I provide a report on my impressions of what I have for many years felt was an impossibility, a good wine, lovingly nursed to the bottle from the vine, here in the Garden State. Stay Tuned!

3 Responses to “I CAN’T BELIEVE I AM WRITING ABOUT A NEW JERSEY WINERY”

  1. WOW! A Jersey wine worth drinking! I have yet to find one, but will have to check this one out if we happen to see them pouring somewhere. Very intersesting! Cheers! -F. Scott

  2. If you’re not too far from Sharrott, then you’re not too far from Amalthea Cellars in Atco. We’ve visited every NJ winery, and there are about 8 (like Sharrott) that we like well. But the people at Amalthea *really* know what they’re doing, and have been at it for decades. We like wines from Burgundy, Bordeaux and the Rhone…and have purchased *many* cases of Amalthea wines. They have free tastings every weekend, and “advanced” tastings (for a small fee) on “Wine Trails” weekends (such as Feb 12/13). You really owe it to yourself to give them a try…but if you don’t, more Amalthea wine for me! :)

    • Richard

      I like the name, Amalthea Cellars, hopefully, one day soon, I’ll check them out.

      Thanks for the tip and for taking the time to comment.

      Frank

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

